ARTIST: FRANCESCO CAVICCHIOLI

***DISCLAIMER: This artwork contains nudity.***
.
I’m an Italian photographer based in Modena. Over the years I’ve done many personal works with different story-lines or inside messages, I played on the theme of hiding the identity of the model to elevate the level of freedom, allowing me to express intimate moments with the model and myself.
My work always starts from the will to express a concept, to tell a story or to impress the eyes of the viewer. In removing the identity of my subjects it is also a way to let people empathize with the photos and the concept.
Here I am because I would like to submit one of my latest series. I feel very into the Balaclava.Q mood and the ideas it comes from, and I would feel honored to be part of it.
The title of the work I’m submitting is:

ARCHITECTURE OF SILENCE

I gave life to a hookup with nature. I showed only what I wanted. I gave the best of me. I fucked with the trees and the sky. I got fucked by the mist and the cold breeze. I did it to feel myself free. I did it because I am free.
.
.

1234-copy5-1-copy6-1-copy7-copy8-copy9-copy10-copy11-copy12-113-copy1415161718192021

.

April 28th, 2017, artist Francesco Cavicchioli presents a new body of work titled:

in-NATURE

.

Artist Statement

.

We, as LGBTQ people, had to fight and to deal with one of the most un-human labels; the powers that be have strategically sought to rid us of our rights, life, and existence, all stemming from one word and label: “unnatural”.

We are ALL made of the same exact organic material, no matter what your sexual orientation is like, we, human beings, are ALL equally unnatural and natural.

In these works, I refuse the word “unnatural”.  I used my subjects and process to present images (via layering) to present homo-aesthetics and sensuality in the most natural thing on Earth. The earth itself, the ground, the trees; nature.  in-NATURE was photographed in places from my childhood.  The very same places where I’ve been happy as a kid and the same places where I wet the ground with my tears when listening to the adult’s speeches, condemning me and my being; us.  Internalized stigma creeps in very quickly as a child, especially when you feel alone, no sense of belonging or community, in fact, I started to feel UNNATURAL, an ABOMINATION. In these works, I reference the boy, the son, the playground, the cruising area, the lover and the man.

in-NATURE is a cathartic mission to reclaim oneself as righteous and valid and proudly part of this planet.

Francesco Cavicchioli

123456789_FNC2315

You can explore more of Cavicchioli’s works by visiting: www.francescocavicchioli.com

.

All works were kindly supplied by the artist.

Please ask the artist before using them.

Thank you.

2 thoughts on “ARTIST: FRANCESCO CAVICCHIOLI

Leave a Reply

