ARTIST: SLAVA MOGUTIN

For Balaclava.Q artist Slava Mogutin presents works from his new series Young Blood Open Heart (2015/2016).

.

14963289_319242045123495_1805503417369299866_n
That’s Me In the Corner (Everybody Hurts), 2016. Blood and red wine on optic C-print. 16 x 20 inches / 40.5 x 51 cm

Artist Statement

.

Coming from a conservative and oppressive Soviet background, I examine the very concept of shame by being completely shameless.

Inspired by Mayakovsky’s revolutionary slogan, ‘Down with your love, Down with your art, Down with your regime, Down with your religion, I wanted to live my life through art, and wanted my life to become art, too.

Throughout the years, poetry and photography remained my main passion and outlet, but I’ve always felt limited by any particular genre or medium and eventually expanded my practice first beyond text, then beyond still, two-dimensional image.

sm_art_disorder_2016
Disorder, 2016.  Permanent marker and sticker collage on paper.  12 x 12 inches / 30 x 30 cm. Private collection

Just like my writings, my art tells stories of real people, real emotions and experiences. An avid voyeur, I’m best at documenting people in intimate, vulnerable settings. This way I can much better capture their true selves.

The personal connection with my subjects is essential to my work, and I’d never ask them to do something that I wouldn’t have done myself. The point is, my subjects must be totally comfortable with me and my camera in order for me to photograph them. It’s about collaboration in a very broad sense. It’s about mutual trust and compassion. It’s about love and beauty in different shapes and forms. It’s about my constant search for a new language and sensibility, new romantic ideals.

I look for primal beauty and innocence in unconventional and often explicit scenes that might be considered ‘obscene,’ ‘shocking,’ or ‘perverse.’ I find these kinds of scenes totally engaging and inspiring, without expecting any moral approval or reproach. As Rimbaud once proclaimed, ‘Morality is a type of brain disease!’

I’ve always enjoyed breaking taboos and stereotypes. I think that’s what real art is about, and I’ve paid my dues for expressing myself in the most radical and honest way.

.

sm_multi_mega_ultra_2016
Multi Mega Ultra, 2016. Tape, sticker and oil pastel on paper. 8 x 12.5 inches / 20 x 32 cm.
sm_marko_limber_revisited_2016
Red Limber (Marko Revisited), 2016. Optic C-print, paper and sticker collage on felt. 9.5 x 12.5 inches / 24 x 32 cm.
sm_death_by_1000_cuts_2016
Death by 1000 Cuts (Berlin Self Revisited), 2016. Tape collage on duraflex print. 11 x 14 inches / 28 x 35.5 cm. Private collection.
sm_art_medusa_gorgona_brian_revisited_2016_web
Medusa Gorgona (Brian Revisited), 2016. Blood, red wine, beet juice and tape on optic C-print. 16″ x 20″ / 40.5 x 51 cm. Private collection.
sm_it_ism_caloric_marko_2016
It Ism Caloric (Marko Revisited), 2016. Stickers and permanent marker on optic C-print. 16 x 20 inches / 40.5 x 51 cm.
sm_art_red_meat_2k15
Red Meat, 2015. Paper collage and acrylic pain on the plastic cutting board. 9.5 x 16 inches / 38 x 45.5 x 5 cm. Private collection.

.

You can explore of Mogutin’s works by visiting his website at: http://slavamogutin.com/ which also includes an extensive social media and web platform link page.

.

All works were kindly supplied the artist.

Please contact the artist before using them.

Thank you.

One thought on “ARTIST: SLAVA MOGUTIN

  1. I appreciate the politic and intime way of artwork of Slava Mogutin. The first photo is my favorite “That’s me on the corner” ❤️
    I want to see more work on this photo of this artist.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

