ARTIST: LUCA FEDERICI

***DISCLAIMER: ADULTS ONLY***

 

Body lying, 120x70, oil on canvas, 2012 (2).jpg
BODY LYING / 2012

The body has always been the focus of my interest. I consider it a system of gestures, signs and meanings that represents us. It is a site of the experiences that characterize our life, a tool that is capable of communicating through its poses, acts, postures.

selfportrait-110x100-oil-on-canvas-2012
SELF PORTRAIT / 2012

At first, my practice was focused on painting through which I attempted to explore concepts related to the deconstruction and reconstruction of the body and the identity as something that may be malleable, destroyed and rebuilt.

self-portrait-80x60-oil-on-canvas-2014
SELF PORTRAIT / 2013

I depicted the flesh of the body, painting it as though the skin was flayed and torn and the subject showed off his own flesh and inner part. The interest for the body led me toward the performance since, from my viewpoint, it is the most immediate way to express the idea that I want to talk about. During the acts my body was whipped, tied up, pierced and painted with blood and colours. I am attempting to transform my SM experiences in material of art, using endurance performance in order to reach the “space of the Submissive”. In other words, instead of submitting to my Dom, I submit to the pain itself, trying to reach that space that may be reached only with endurance and pain. Moreover, my face as well as my body are always altered (and therefore somehow covered) by the use of painting, needles, cling film or blood that cover my face, turning it in a sort of grotesque mask.

glitttering-blood-performance-2016
A photograph from ‘GLITTERING BLOOD’ performance / 2016
study-for-performance-performance-for-camera-2015-1
A study for performance ‘PERFORMANCE FOR CAMERA’ / 2015
revelation-passage-performance-2015
‘REVELATION PASSAGE’ performance / 2015
act1-performance-2015
‘ACT #1’ performance / 2015
marks-performance-2015
‘MARKS’ performance / 2015

All images were kindly supplied by the artist.

Please ask the artist before using them.

Thank you.

One thought on “ARTIST: LUCA FEDERICI

Leave a Reply

